Partner with :

Home / TBT: Which LMP2 teams were the most successful in the ELMS modern era

TBT: Which LMP2 teams were the most successful in the ELMS modern era

LM P2 - 27/02/2020 - Sophie LIGER

Since 2014 and the introduction of the 4-hour race format, four teams have been crowned European Le Mans Series champions. G-Drive Racing is the most successful team in ELMS with three titles in 2016,2017 and 2018. Signatech Alpine, Greaves Motorsport and Idec Sport all secured one title each in 2014, 2015 and 2019 respectively.

In 2016, Simon Dolan, Harry Tincknell and Giedo Van de Garde secured the title at the wheel of the JOTA Sport run G-Drive “Mighty 38” Gibson, the final season of the open cockpit LMP2s, with victories in Silverstone and Estoril.

In 2017, the G-Drive team was run by DragonSpeed. Memo Rojas and Leo Roussel won the title after a season long battle with a high quality LMP2 grid that saw four different winners in the six 4-hour races held that season.

2018 marked the third title for the Russian squad, this time run by TDS Racing. Roman Rusinov and Andrea Pizzitola were crowned ELMS champions in Spa, one round before the final of the season. Their teammate, Jean-Eric Vergne finished second after missing the opening round due to a clash with the FIA Formula E.

In 2014, the first year of the 4 hours race format of the European Le Mans Series, saw victory go to Signatech Alpine and their drivers Nelson Panciatici, Oliver Webb and Paul Loup Chatin. It was the second title in a row for the French team but the first one since the brand-new format of the Series. The fight was very close as Thiriet by TDS Racing, JOTA Sport, Signatech Alpine, Newblood by Morand Racing and Sebastien Loeb Racing all won one race this season.

In 2015, Greaves Motorsport took the crown of European Champion after fighting with 16 other cars and 40 drivers. Jon Lancaster, Björn Wirdheim and Gary Hirsh secured the titles for themselves and the British team. French team Thiriet by TDS Racing, running the ORECA 05 chassis, along with drivers Pierre Thiriet and Ludovic Badey, became vice champions ahead of JOTA Sport, Simon Dolan, Filipe Albuquerque and Harry Tincknell, who finished third in the points table.

Idec Sport is the third team to have one title in its record and is also the reigning ELMS champions. Memo Rojas and Paul Loup Chatin secured their second ELMS drivers titles, while teammate Paul Lafarge added his first.  They finished just 4 points ahead of Roman Rusinov and Job Van Uitert, who narrowly missed out adding a fourth championship crown for G-Drive Racing and the first for the Russian manufacturer Aurus.

Who will be the next European Le Mans Series champion? Don’t forget to follow us so as not to miss any news during the 2020 season.

CLICK HERE for the 2020 ELMS entry list

Next session

Official Tests

Session 1

Results 2019
ELMS on socials networks