Partner with :

Home / By the Numbers: LMP2 Champions

Picture © Jakob Ebrey Photography

By the Numbers: LMP2 Champions

LM P2 - 04/02/2019 - Jeff CARTER

As the countdown begins to the start of the 2019 European Le Mans Series season we take a look back at each of the champion’s 2018 campaign, starting with the no26 G Drive Racing Oreca 07-Gibson.

The 2018 Season

A successful campaign saw the Russian flagged team amass 100.25 points from the six races, 34.25 ahead of their nearest rivals, which included three victories and one pole position. Four drivers competed during the 2018 season with Alexandre Imperatori stand in for Jean-Eric Vergne during the 4 Hours of Le Castellet as the French driver was racing in the FIA Formula E championship. 

This meant that Roman Rusinov and Andrea Pizzitola became the 2018 ELMS LMP2 Driver Champions with 100.25 points, while Vergne finished the year on 88.25.

Platinum graded Jean-Eric Vergne was the fastest driver in the no26 car, claiming the team’s only pole in Belgium. Silver rated Andrea Pizzitola made his mark on endurance racing in 2018, beating his gold rated teammates at Le Castellet and outpacing Vergne at Red Bull Ring. Roman Rusinov was the lynchpin in the team, putting in the fastest race lap in the no26 Oreca at Monza and keeping to within one second of Jean-Eric Vergne at most circuits.

Consistency of the lap times between the three drivers was the key to the 2018 ELMS titles.  The no26 G-Drive Racing Oreca-Gibson covered a total of 3817km and 721 race laps in 2018.

Next session



Results 2019
ELMS on socials networks