Partner with :

Home / A Look Back at the 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps

Picture © Adrenal Media

A Look Back at the 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps

ELMS - 17/09/2019 - Jeff CARTER

In 2016 a sixth event was added to the European Le Mans Series and in September of that year the first 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps was held.

Winning Manufacturers at Spa-Francorchamps

In the three events the LMP2 class has been won by Oreca (2016/17) and Ligier (2018), all three races in LMP3 have been won by a Ligier and Ferrari and Porsche have both won in LMGTE, twice for the Prancing Horse and once for the German manufacturer in 2018.

Two Teams – Two Wins – Two Classes

Two teams have won in two different classes. In 2016 Graff won the LMP3 class, with Enzo Guibbert, Paul Petit and Eric Trouillet taking their first of two wins that season in the no9 Ligier JS P3-Nissan. In 2017 Graff won the LMP2 class with James Allen, Richard Bradley and Gustavo Yacaman taking the win in the no40 Oreca 07-Gibson.

The second team is United Autosports, the Anglo-American outfit scoring both the LMP2 and LMP3 wins in the rain shortened 2018 race.  Filipe Albuquerque and Phil Hanson won the race in the no22 Ligier JSP217-Gibson, with 19-year-old Hanson becoming the youngest ever overall winner in the ELMS. The LMP3 class was won by reigning class champion John Falb and Australian Scott Andrews in the no2 Ligier JS P3-Nissan.

Nine Winners – No Champions

Of the nine winners in the three events, none has gone onto claim the class title at the final round in Portugal the following month. In 2017 all the eventual champions in each of the three classes finished second in their respective categories at Spa.

ELMS Race Lap Records at Spa-Francorchamps

The lap records for the Le Mans Prototype Classes were set in 2017, with eventual driver’s champion Leo Roussel setting a 2m05.236 in the no26 G-Drive Racing Oreca 07-Gibson. 

The LMP3 lap record is held by Wayne Boyd who set a 2m17.066 lap in the no3 United Autosports Ligier JS P3-Nissan.

The LMGTE lap record was set in 2016 by Rory Butcher in the no66 JMW Motorsport Ferrari F488 GTE, the Scottish driver posting a 2m20.298 lap around the 7km Spa-Francorchamps circuit.

Three Podium Finishes for Stevens

British driver Will Stevens is the only driver to have stood on the podium in all three events.  In 2016 Stevens finished 2nd overall with Belgian outfit Team WRT. 

In 2017 he finished 2nd in LMGTE in the no66 JMW Motorsport to help Rob Smith and Jody Fannin and the team to their respective class titles in Portugal that year. 

In 2018 Will Stevens returned to the LMP2 podium when he finished 3rd in the no23 Panis Barthez Competition Ligier JSP217-Gibson in the shortened 2-hour race.

The 2019 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps will be the fourth visit by the ELMS since the series was relaunched in 2013.  The 2019 race will take place on Sunday 22 September.

Actualités liées

> Le Castellet Hosts Bumper 37 Car Grid for Delayed 2020 ELMS Season Opener Le 07/07/2020 à 17:30

> A first taste of the 4 Hours of Le Castellet Le 03/07/2020 à 17:28

> The latest 2020 ELMS liveries Le 03/07/2020 à 11:00

> The 4 Hours of Le Castellet: first round of the 2020 ELMS Le 01/07/2020 à 15:37

> 2020 season: D-20 Le 29/06/2020 à 17:00

Next session

Official Tests

Session 1

Results 2019
ELMS on socials networks