Partner with :

Home / Season 2016 / 4 Hours of Le Castellet

26/08/2016 - 28/08/2016

ELMS - 4 Hours of Le Castellet 2016

Built in 1970 by the French aniseed drink tycoon, Paul Ricard, the circuit which bears his name has hosted 14 F1 Grands Prix, 22 Bols d'Or and 12 World Championship Moto Grands Prix. Totally renovated by Philippe Gurdjian at the start of the 2000s, the circuit has become a benchmark for motor sport safety notably because of the asphalt run-off areas used instead of gravel traps.  In 2015 the Circuit Paul Ricard also welcomed the return of the famous Bol d’Or.

Formerly reserved for teams’ and manufacturers' development testing, the circuit re-opened its doors to the general public in 2009 at the instigation of its then director, Gérard Neveu. Since its creation in 2004, the Le Mans Series (followed by Le Mans Endurance and subsequently the European Le Mans Series) has begun each season at the Le Castellet track in the South of France by means of the annual international press gathering.

In 2013 the ELMS season closed at Paul Ricard, while in 2014 it was the penultimate race won by the Swiss NewBlood by Morand Racing team. The fourth round of the 2015 ELMS was exciting from start to finish and after the chequered flag was waved. JOTA Sport crossed the line to finish first on the road only to see the win handed to Greaves Motorsport after a regulation infringement (driving time) by one of the JOTA Sport drivers.

Le Castellet was also the place where the very first LMP3 title was won after Sir Chris Hoy and teammate Charlie Robertson won their third race of the year, securing the title with one race of the season remaining. Formula Racing (LMGTE) and TDS Racing (GTC) won their second race in their respective class.


Timetable Castellet


European Le Mans Series Results 2015

LMP2: Greaves Motorsport - Gibson 015S Nissan n°41 - Hirsch / Wirdheim / Lancaster

LMP3: Team LNT - Ginetta Nissan n°3 - Hoy / Robertson

LMGTE: Formula Racing - Ferrari F458 Italia n°60 - Laursen / Mac / Rizzoli

GTC: TDS Racing - BMW Z4 GT3 n°59 - Perera / Lunardi / Dermont


European Le Mans Series Results 2014:

LMP2:  NewBlood by Morand Racing – No.43 Morgan Judd – Klien/Hirsch/Ragues

LMGTE: AF Corse – No.55 Ferrari 458 Italia – Cameron/Griffin/Rugolo

GTC: SMP Racing – No.73 Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 – Ladygin/Markosov/Beretta


European Le Mans Series results 2013:

LMP2: Murphy Prototypes –No.18 ORECA 03-Nissan – Hartley/Hirschi

LMGTE: Ram Racing –No.52 Ferrari F458 Italia – Mowlem/Griffin

LMPC: Team Endurance Challenge –No.48 FLM ORECA 09 – Pons/Ayari

GTC: SMP Racing –No.69 Ferrari F458 Italia GT3 – Babini/Shaitar/Ladygin 


Free Practice 1 26/08/2016 14:50 Duration : 90 min. Results

Free Practice 2 27/08/2016 08:10 Duration : 90 min. Results

Qualifying - LMGTE 27/08/2016 12:50 Duration : 10 min. Results

Qualifying - LMP3 27/08/2016 13:10 Duration : 10 min. Results

Qualifying - LMP2 27/08/2016 13:30 Duration : 10 min. Results

Race 28/08/2016 14:00 Duration : 240 min. Results



2760 Route des Hauts du Camp 83330 Le Castellet France

Length (Km) : 5.861

Left turns : 5

Right turns : 8

Location and contact

Website :

Media contact :
Magali Bernard

Next session

Official Tests

Session 1

Results 2019
Follow us !