Partner with :

Home / Season 2016 / 4 Hours of Estoril

21/10/2016 - 23/10/2016

ELMS - 4 Hours of Estoril 2016

Located near the Atlantic coast about thirty kilometres from Lisbon, the Estoril circuit was created in 1972 and has undergone numerous transformations since. It offers a unique configuration: a long straight followed by a series of highly technical sequences. It requires a versatile car, with a good top speed and agility through the series of fast bends.

 In 1984, the Estoril circuit was also the scene of a great moment in the history of motor sport: Niki Lauda came back from two years in retirement and recaptured the Formula 1 World Championship crown, beating his McLaren team-mate Alain Prost by a half-point.

The first sports prototype and GT endurance race at Estoril was held on the circuit’s opening day in 1972, but it would take until 1977 before the first true endurance event took place – the ACP Grand Prix which formed part of the World Sports Prototype Championship.   The Le Mans Series’ 1000 km of Estoril followed in 2001 and then the LMS 6-hour race in 2011.

The Estoril Circuit was the venue for the final round of the 2014 ELMS season.  It was a fantastic finale which saw a fifth different team climb onto the highest step of the podium (Sébastien Loeb Racing), rounding out a high quality season in front of 20,000 spectators.

For the second time the ELMS season finale took place on the superb Estoril race track in 2015. But the race was hard on the drivers and the vehicles. Despite heavy rain and wind, thousands of spectators came to witnesses a thrilling race and to see Thiriet by TDS Racing win its second race in the season, ahead of both Gibsons 015S of Greaves Motorsports and JOTA Sport. The Belgian BMW Team Marc VDS won the LMGTE class in the team’s final race in four wheel motorsport and it was also the debut win for Nissan GT Academy star Gaétan Paletou in LMP3. 

Estoril also saw the crowning of the LMP2, LMGTE and GTC champions with Greaves Motorsport, Formula Racing and TDS Racing all securing the 2015 European Le Mans Series titles.

European Le Mans Series Results 2015

LMP2: Thiriet by TDS Racing - ORECA 05 Nissan n°46 - Thiriet / Badey / Lapierre

LMP3: Team LNT - Ginetta Nissan n°2 - Paletou / Simpson

LMGTE: BMW Team MarcVDS -BMW Z4 n°52 Priaulx / Hassid / Krohn

GTC: AF Corse - Ferrari F458 Italia GT3 n°63 - Roda / Melnikov / Cioci


European Le Mans Results (2014):

LMP2:  Sebastien Loeb Racing – No.24 ORECA 03R Nissan – Capillaire/Eriksson

LMGTE: SMP Racing – No72 Ferrari 458 Italia – Zlobin/Bertolini/Shaitar

GTC:  BMW Sport Trophy Marc VDS – No.87 BMW Z4 GT3 – Leinders/Paltalla/Hassid


Bronze Driver Collective Test 21/10/2016 09:35 Duration : 30 min. Results

Free Practice 1 21/10/2016 14:50 Duration : 90 min. Results

Free Practice 2 22/10/2016 08:00 Duration : 90 min. Results

Qualifying 22/10/2016 12:45 Duration : 50 min. Results

Race 23/10/2016 13:30 Duration : 240 min. Results



Av Alfredo César Torres - Autodromo do Estoril, Loja Nº11 e 13 - Alcabideche - 2645 - 901

Length (Km) : 4.182

Left turns : 5

Right turns : 8

Location and contact

Phone : +351 917366420

Email :

Website :

Media contact :

Next session

Official Tests

Session 1

Results 2019
Follow us !